It's Back - Allegedly

General discussion and anything that isn't covered by the other categories.
Mike Farley

It's Back - Allegedly

Postby Mike Farley » Thu 28 Mar 2013, 15:11

http://www.jessops.com/

Earlier today, there was a countdown timer, which expired at around midday. Now there is only this. Hardly an auspicious (re)start.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (73.2 KiB) Viewed 4363 times
Regards

Mike Farley
(Visit my website and blog - www.mikefarley.net)
Peter Boughton

Re: It's Back - Allegedly

Postby Peter Boughton » Thu 28 Mar 2013, 16:07

I'm not a lighting expert, but wouldn't most flashes would have overheated/burnt out by now?

Anyhow, I was curious so I went poking about...

From Wikipedia:
Jessops online printing is set to be taken over CeWe Color. CeWe Color is due to take over the Jessops Photo database in early March.

The first Jessops store to reopen was the Bicester branch, which reopened as ImageX on Friday 1 March 2013 by three of the former employees of the branch.

Further stores are due to reopen on 28 March as Jessops with more set to reopen throughout April

However, Jessops Photo is already online at http://photo.jessops.com, and the main jessops.com domain is pointing at a completely different server. One owned by Expansys - a tech/electronics retailer.

I've used Expansys in the past and had a sufficiently bad experience that - if they are taking over Jessops - I would be dubious about using them. :/
Mike Farley

Postby Mike Farley » Thu 28 Mar 2013, 16:37

Expansys is another part of Peter Jones' business empire.

http://www.peterjones.com/portfolio/
Regards

Mike Farley
Peter Boughton

Postby Peter Boughton » Thu 28 Mar 2013, 18:03

Didn't know that, but doesn't affect my opinion in either direction.

However, based on this interview with PJ, it seems to be a case of re-using existing infrastructure rather than necessarily being Expansys running Jessops, so I guess it's best to reserve judgement for the time being.