Photo mounts

General discussion and anything that isn't covered by the other categories.
Simon Clarkson

Photo mounts

Postby Simon Clarkson » Thu 25 Oct 2012, 20:14

In the competition yesterday the photographs were mounted in little white mounts. Where can you buy these and does the photo just slip straight into them?? I was told hobbycraft but they don't seem to stock them.

Regards

Sorry but I'm new to all this! :-)
Mike Farley

Re: Photo mounts

Postby Mike Farley » Thu 25 Oct 2012, 23:51

Simon, the majority of the mounts seen last night would have been made by the photographers themselves to fit the images they are presenting. It is possible to buy pre-cut window mounts and I have seen them at Clas Ohlson, but they tend to be expensive and the image would need to have proportions to fit the mount, rather than the other way around which is possible with a bespoke mount. The problem being that once the image needs to be cropped due to aesthetic considerations, it is quite likely that the resulting photo can no longer be produced with dimensions which are compatible with a predetermined size.

http://www.clasohlson.com/uk/Canson-Passepartout/Pr313997003

The most common size is 40 cm x 50 cm (which is very close to 16" x 20" in old money) and this is frequently a requirement for exhbitions and external competitions. Mount board can be purchased as A0 or A1 sheets and then cut down to size, although it might also be possible to buy ready made 40 x 50 boards. In essence, mounts can be produced in on one of two ways. The photo can either be stuck directly onto the board or a window with a bevel edge can be cut into the board, which often looks better. A judge should not be influenced by the mount when awarding a mark as they should be looking at the image, but good presentation can be a factor.